Known to all as DigComp, it is a digital skills classification tool for all stakeholders in the European labour market in the field of digital skills. It then helps to enable citizens to identify their learning objectives and to identify training opportunities in order to achieve more and better career opportunities.

In line with this, key digital competences are grouped into the following five (5) areas:

  • Basic use of information and data
  • Communication and cooperation skills
  • Abilities to create digital content
  • Knowledge of safety
  • Problem-solving skills

Its updated version, DigComp 2.2, aims for citizens to use digital technologies confidently and safely. It provides more than 250 new examples of knowledge and skills including skills requirements that create the use of emerging technologies such as Artificial Intelligence (AI), the Internet of Things (IoT), data management. It also takes into account the new trends that have emerged as a result of the current health crisis and have led to new and increased demands on the digital competences of citizens and workers.

Finally, the DigComp update also contributes to achieving the EU’s ambitious Digital Decade targets of upskilling the entire population — 80 % of EU citizens will have basic digital skills by 2030.

Documents republished by the Digital Skills & Jobs Platform:

The Digital Competence Framework (DigComp)

DigComp 2.2 update: The Digital Competence Framework for Citizens

Translation editing: National Alliance for Digital Skills & Employment

Digital technology / specialisation

  • Digital skills

Digital skill level

  • Basic
  • Intermediate
  • Advanced

Geographic Scope - Country

  • European Union

Type of initiative

EU institutional initiative

Target audience

  • Digital skills for all

Leave a Reply

You already voted!