The Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts (MKW – Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, in German) represents key areas of Baden-Württemberg politics. As the highest state authority, its responsibility extends to all universities in the state, most of the non-university research institutions, the scientific libraries and archives as well as important art institutions in Baden-Württemberg.

There are currently more than 70 state- and privately run universities in Baden-Württemberg. Outside the universities, more than 100 research institutions are located in the state of Baden-Württemberg, including 12 research institutions of the Max Planck Society, 15 institutions of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, 13 contract research institutions and two large-scale research institutions of the Helmholtz Association. For a large number of these institutions, the Ministry of Science is involved in the financing institutionally or through projects.

Website link

Digital technology / specialisation

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Cybersecurity
  • Internet of Things
  • Digital skills

Geographic Scope - Country

  • Germany

Target audience

  • Digital skills for the labour force.
  • Digital skills in education.
  • Digital skills for all