The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) is one of the main financial instruments of the EUʼs cohesion policy.

Its purpose is to contribute to reducing disparities between the levels of development of European regions and to reduce the backwardness of the least-favoured regions. Particular attention is paid to regions that suffer from severe and permanent natural or demographic handicaps, such as the northernmost regions, which have very low population densities, and island, cross-border and mountain regions.

Five main objectives will drive EU investments in 2021-2027:

  1. Smarter Europe;
  2. A Greener, carbon-free Europe;
  3. A more Connected Europe, with strategic transport and digital networks;
  4. A more Social Europe;
  5. Europe closer to citizens.



Source : European Digital Skills & Jobs Platform


Digital technology / specialisation

  • Digital skills

Digital skill level

  • Basic
  • Intermediate

Geographic Scope - Country

  • European Union

Type of initiative

EU institutional initiative

Target audience

  • Digital skills for the labour force.
  • Digital skills in education.
  • Digital skills for all

Target group

  • High Achievers
  • Non-Native Speakers
  • Persons requiring employment retraining
  • Persons in tertiary education (EQF 6)
  • Persons who have completed primary education
  • Persons in secondary/compulsory education
  • Persons who have completed tertiary education (EQF 7)
  • Persons in primary education
  • Persons with 0-3 years work experience
  • Persons who have completed tertiary education (EQF 8)
  • Persons who have completed secondary/compulsory education
  • Persons in tertiary education (EQF 7)
  • Persons in tertiary education (EQF 8)
  • Migrants
  • Persons with 3-10 years work experience
  • Persons with 10+ years work experience
  • Persons with a learning disability
  • Native Speakers
  • Persons who have completed tertiary education (EQF 6)
  • Low Achievers

Form of funding

Financial Instrument